Maths and Numeracy



Mrs C Prot - Curricular Leader 

Mrs S Bratby

Ms A Manson

Ms S Smith

Ms A Pfupajena

Mr D Wilson



Maths is considered one of the Core skills and as such is important, not only in education, but also in work and many personal situations.

Possession of Core skills allows people to use the knowledge and understanding they have to good effect and helps them to put what they learn in one subject into action in other aspects of learning.

The Mathematics department are able to offer courses from National 3 through to Advanced Higher for those wish to progress to study a variety of subjects at College or University.

Courses in the early stages of study are designed to encourage student participation which illustrates the need for what is being learned and which sees maths as arising out of real or realistic contexts which students can appreciate.

Course Text books have been chosen for coursework at all levels and provision for overlap between levels has been built into course arrangements.

Maths News

 Easter Revision 

In addition to revision planned for the Easter break, we would like all National 5 and Higher pupils to complete 2 full past papers.

National 5 - 2014 and 2015 National 5 papers

Higher - 2005 and 2006 Higher papers

Please encourage your son/daughter to complete the papers together with skills practise and topic specific study. Edmodo has a great variety of revision material that pupils can access at home. Please see login details below.

  • Supported Study: Thursday Lunch and Wednesday/Thursday after school every week. All pupils are welcome, please remember to bring study materials or questions with you.
  • Edmodo:
  • Higher Assessment Group Code: 326n6w   
  • National 5 Assessment Group Code: rx4igy
  • Helping your child with Maths at home: See our link below.


Skills Progression 1st level to Advanced Higher